Stop letting misogynists label Feminsits as Man-haters

The word ‘feminist’ unfortunately now holds a negative connotation. People ‘don’t like’ feminists, in-fact most people I ask. It makes me sick people actually refer to them as ‘femi-nazis’.

eastman-x-3b09749u

Feminism is one big misconception. Feminists are not ‘man-haters’, think all men are rapists or believe women are superior to men, we just think we should all be equal. And when the question is asked (which inevitably it will be): ‘So, should a man be able to hit a woman?’ the answer is no-one should hit anyone and this will always be my answer.

Women fought, endured violence, were force-fed and died for the right to vote. Don’t we owe them some respect to make the all the work they did for us count?

Women fought for birth control, safe abortion and reproductive healthcare.

Women fought for the right to wear trousers.

They fought for education and financial independence.

Women standing up for themselves won’t make you men any weaker, I in fact know many men who would proudly label themselves Feminists like all respectable men should.

Feminists aren’t all cold-hearted and pushy and in-fact I don’t blame men for women’s place in society. I blame the media, including social and mostly I blame the bible.

Women are not weak due to our ’emotions’ and ‘sensitivity’. Women are not ‘body’ and men are not ‘mind’.  Women aren’t ‘sex’.

Next time you use the world ‘whore’, ‘slut’ etc. think of your mother, daughter, sister and how by using that word to one woman you’re continuing to make society harder for all women. Then watch this video ‘Dear Daddy, I’m going to be called a whore

I can also admit I haven’t always labelled myself a feminist until I got to about 18 and suddenly when pushed into the city I found myself surrounded by casual sexism and became quickly frustrated with my lack of ability to make a change; the least I could do was write this post.

These women fought to make a woman a person in the eyes of the law, not a mans property.

Boys and girls, think before you slag off a feminist.

coretta-scott-300x225

2 thoughts on “Stop letting misogynists label Feminsits as Man-haters

Leave a Reply

